nerd weddings

nerdy wedding inspiration!

Crafty Brides: Knit Wedding Dress!

Leave a comment

Lydia Tayler, a 26 year old British bride, knit her own wedding dress – and it’s completely gorgeous! I know plenty of folks who think knitting is nerdy, or something only grandmas and characters played by Zooey Deschanel do, and the dress is stunning, so I had to share it.

Lydia and her groom Ash put a lot of DIY elements into their wedding, but the dress is my personal favorite wedding DIY I’ve seen in a long time.  According to The Daily Mail, Lydia spent less than £200 on yarn – that’s about $313 American, and far less money than I’ve seen spent on wedding dresses that aren’t nearly this gorgeous or unique! Here’s what Lydia had to say about her dress:

“I looked at a few dresses first but only for inspiration. I did try a couple on but had already set my mind to knitting my own. I did not look at the price tags but I know from my friends’ wedding they would have cost a fortune […] Everyone just loved my dress. They could not stop looking at it and taking photographs. It was lovely to wear – not only nice and warm but as light as lace because I used very fine yarn. Knitting is a huge part of my life and I always knew I would want it to form some part of our wedding – I just didn’t set out for it to play such a huge role. The dress is the hardest, and most important, garment I have ever made but I’m so glad I did it.

To be able to integrate such an important part of your life into your wedding in such a meaningful way is awesome. Plus, if you custom design your wedding dress, think of all the nerdy details you could work into it – a Star Trek insignia worked into the pattern where it would go on a Starfleet uniform, or a pattern that included the sigil of your favorite Game of Thrones house? The possibilities are endless!

[via The Daily Mail]

Leave a Reply

